W Michigan QB Terrell wins Campbell as top scholar-athlete

NEW YORK (AP) Western Michigan quarterback Zach Terrell is the winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy, which goes to college football’s top scholar-athlete.

Terrell was presented with the so-called academic Heisman on Tuesday night at the National Football Foundation’s Hall of Fame banquet. He was one of 12 finalists from all levels of college football. Each finalist receives an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. Terrell receives an additional $7,000 in scholarship money.

A three-year captain, Terrell is currently working an MBA after graduating in 3 1/2 years from Western Michigan.

This season he has thrown for 3,376 yards and 32 touchdowns while leading the 12th-ranked Broncos (13-0) to the best season in school history and a bid to the Cotton Bowl to face No. 8 Wisconsin.

The other finalists were:

-Taysom Hill, quarterback BYU

-Chris Beaschler, linebacker, Dayton

-Tim Crawley, wide receiver, San Jose State

-DeVon Edwards, safety, Duke

-Brooks Ellis, linebacker, Arkansas

-Carter Hanson, linebacker, Saint John’s (Minn.)

-Ryan Janvion, safety, Wake Forest

-Zay Jones, wide receiver, East Carolina

-Cooper Rush, quarterback, Central Michigan

-Karter Schult, defensive lineman, Northern Iowa

-Tyler Sullivan, quarterback, Delta State

25% Bonus via Western Union


Credit card deposits receive a 15% bonus while the 25% bonus offer is for all other funding methods such as Western Union or Moneygram. Bank a BetOnline bonus
Claim Free Bet Now!